Posted by: kerrywills | January 20, 2012

Classic Workplace Moves: The Bathroom Newspaper Reader


I always enjoy when I go to the bathroom at work and there is someone in the stall reading a newspaper. I have so many questions for them that I want to ask….

  • Is this a planned thing that you do every day?
  • Is this scheduled as a meeting on your calendar?
  • Why do you think that this is the best place to read the paper?
  • How long have you been here?
  • Is this part of a contingency plan in case there is no toilet paper?
  • Do you consider this multitasking at work?

Sometimes the Bathroom Reader Guy will even leave the paper on the floor for the next person; a sort of “pay it forward” to his colleagues. So if you are reading this blog, Bathroom Paper Reading Guy, please answer my questions…or at the very least print the blog and take it with you next time.

Responses

  1. I think they like to rattle the paper to let you know they’re in there….

  2. I dont get the bathroom cell-phone talkers myself……

  3. Most workplaces don’t allow you to take their purchased newspapers out of the lobby. Besides, why would you read the paper in the toilet when you have your mobile phone? That reminds me, isn’t the person talking in the toilet on the phone even more irritating? The last sanctuary in the workplace—violated.

  4. Must be a guy thing. I have never seen or heard this in a ladies’ room. We bring books.

  5. Good topic. I’ve been in offices where you are guaranteed to find at least part of the paper every time you go into one of the stalls. I don’t know who touches that used newspaper though because you know exactly what that person did right around the time they were touching the newspaper.

  6. It’s pretty old school. These newspaper reader stall guys remind me of the proud folks who walk around the gym lockeroom without a towel. It’s like they’ve reached a point where they feel “yeah, I knew when I was younger this was just wrong, but now I transformed into being THAT guy and I have a right to walk around loud and proud.” the newspaper readers in the stalls must have a secret membership or something, as they feel like it’s ok for them to do it.

  7. […] Workplace Moves which includes classics such as the Bathroom Newspaper Guy and Reply to All […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

