Posted by: kerrywills | July 26, 2013

E-mail nuances


There are a few nuances in e-mails which I think are very important to notice and consider when sending e-mails. On an average day I will get between 200 and 300 messages so e-mail has become an important tool in our work culture. Here are a few considerations that I have picked up on…

  • Teamwork: Having a culture of teamwork and collaboration is very important to me. Therefore I start all of my e-mails to the team as “Team,” to begin my first word with the principle that we are one collective. This is such a simple technique and yet many Project Managers do not use it
  • Signatures: I am not a big fan of putting my title in my signature as I don’t want it to come across like I am announcing to the  world my seniority. I would rather just show the team I am working on as a representation of myself and not my level (see first bullet on teamwork)
  • Succinct: Since I get 200-300 messages a day I have a “scroll rule” which says if I need to scroll to read it than it is too long…and I mean from my blackberry. Keep messages succinct and to the point
  • Organize: If you choose not to meet my scroll rule then at least organize the content into categories or bullets instead of writing a novel

1

So to summarize – Focus on the team and not your level and get to the point!

Responses

  1. […] Kerry Wills has some opinions on what makes for an effective EMail.  Mostly, it’s brevity. […]

  2. Hi Kerry,

    I like your point about signatures – it’s a fact that the length of the signature is inversely proportional to the importance of the person whose signature that is.

    Most of the emails I receive from very important people either have no signature or just their name. Also for some reason, important people like to use blue as their font color. No idea why.


Leave a Reply

Categories

