Posted by: kerrywills | April 22, 2016

When I get anxious, I organize


I am an anxious person by nature and so I worry a lot. At work, I worry about plans, risks, meeting commitments, open action items, gaps in processes, and lots of other things. So when I get anxious, I go to my default approach which is to organize. Some examples are highlighted below

  • I make lists. Lots of them. What is great about lists is that they enable you to capture all of the items in one place and get dates and names so they can be tracked to closure.
  • I draw pictures. I find that this helps to convey messages and gives something for people to look at and react to instead of an abstract conversation.
  • I make presentations. These help to organize my thoughts and tell the right ‘story’ for what I am trying to convey.

Dont-agonize.-Organize.

So maybe it is part of my Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, but I find that when I make a list I feel better because everything is captured in one place. Then I can look at the list (obsess) and cross things off (compulse) and then feel better.

Responses

  1. […] Kerry Wills leverages his OCD to keep his anxiety disorder in check. It’s good that there’s a job out there for everyone …. […]

  2. […] via When I get anxious, I organize — Adventures in Project Management […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

