Posted by: kerrywills | February 14, 2014

One Week Away….


On every project there are open action items, issues and risks that get tracked. What frustrates me is when they continue to remain open and have a status of being done “in one week.” The problem is when these items have been ‘one week away’..for 4 or 5 weeks in a row.

I can’t tell what the cause of this phenomenon is. I could speculate on a few reasons…

  • People are too optimistic about closing things out
  • People don’t care about the dates and therefore keep pushing the work
  • People are not diligent in following up
  • People made the wrong assumptions about what it would take to close the item
  • Other priorities came up

1

I am not sure of the exact reason but it is pervasive on the projects and programs that I work on. Those of you who follow this blog know that commitments are very important to me and therefore that this frustrates me significantly. I don’t really have any good ideas on how to resolve this beyond constant diligence and follow ups that these items are due and need to be closed out.

Does anyone following this blog have other suggestions? Please get back to me in one week….

Responses

  1. Hi Kerry,

    I don’t think you have any other option but to “maintain your calm!”

    From my experience, that “just one week” thingie is sign of stakeholders aiming for utopian perfection. “How about if we change this to this, wouldn’t it look better?”, “How about if we add this?”, etc… The project gets delay indefinitely and, by the time it’s released, it’ll be obsolete.


Leave a Reply

Categories

