Posted by: kerrywills | February 8, 2013

Have fun or else it really is work


I am writing this post from New Orleans during Mardi Gras. There is nothing better than watching parades, collecting beads and eating the local food down here! It reminds me that we need to not take things so seriously. This includes the time that we spend at work (which is usually much more than we spend at home or with our families).

New Orleans Celebrates Mardi Gras

Those who know me know that I keep things light and fun with a “work hard and play hard” attitude. This is so important because of the amount of time that teams spend together during stressful situations. I find that keeping things light allows the team to let down their guard a bit and brings people closer. It amazes me the number of people who manage by yelling or berating others and I cannot imagine how this is effective at building teams, camaraderie or trust.

Being down here gives me plenty of ideas on how to motivate my teams. Maybe every time they meet a deliverable I can give them some beads.

Leave a Reply

Categories

