Posted by: kerrywills | January 18, 2013

Consultant Guilt


I spent the early part of my career as a consultant which meant that I billed out at a high rate for my services.  In return it was expected that we provided significant value for the cost our customers were paying for us.  After leaving consulting I kept with me this feeling of maximizing my value for the cost that I am being paid. Therefore when there are days where I feel like I am not adding as much value as I can, I experience what I call “consultant guilt.”

1

We should all consider ourselves as discretionary consultants who are being paid an hourly rate for our services (hmmm sounds like a different profession than consulting but stick with me as that example is consistent with my point too). Therefore each hour and day we need to step back and think “did my customer get their money’s worth for what they paid me?” Having this mindset will force people into considering efficiencies and effectiveness in the work that they do and surely maximize productivity.  It will also help them to consider their customer’s perspective.

Now imagine if people were set up in deliverable-based employment contracts where they didn’t get paid for standing in the coffee line or hanging out with co-workers. Or a scenario where they only got paid for producing tangible deliverables with high quality. I think a lot of people take employment for granted and need to have more “consultant guilt” for days and activities that are not productive.

Leave a Reply

Categories

