Posted by: kerrywills | January 4, 2013

Workplace Cafeteria Etiquette


A continuation of the workplace etiquette series this masterpiece will cover workplace cafeteria etiquette. The workplace cafeteria is a magical place filled with special treats and overpriced meals. I have a few strategies that I use for my meals…

  • Know when the good stuff is there – some cafeterias have specials during the week so it is important to know them. For example, Mondays are buffalo chicken wrap (BCW) days so even though they cost around $8 they are well worth it
  • Get there early – on BCW day I plan my schedule to get there around 11:30 and avoid the long lines
  • Stay in the salad line – nothing worse than waiting in line only to have someone jump the line and cut in front of your place that you earned
  • Make a sandwich – I find it is cheaper to make the sandwich than to buy it pre-made
  • Pick the right checkout – just like when I drive I always seem to be in the slow lane, I always seem to pick the slow checkout person. And just like when I drive, if I switch to another lane that automatically becomes the slow one
  • Make friends with the cooks – knowing them by first name and building rapport can result in the occasional extra piece of bacon or cheese on your burger

1

Well hopefully my strategies for the cafeteria have provided you your daily dose of informational nourishment.

Leave a Reply

Categories

