Posted by: kerrywills | August 31, 2012

If its not on my list, it doesnt exist


There are many moving parts to projects and thus many things to manage on them. Here are a few I can think of…

  • Action Items
  • Decisions
  • Scope questions
  • Issues
  • Risks

In order to track these things we need a place to document them, determine who owns them, get dates to complete them and monitor them to completion. I tend to make lots of lists because otherwise we wont be able to remember all of the things in flight (let alone be able to manage them).

Therefore I like to say that “if it is not on my list, it does not exist.” By this I mean that if I am aware of something I can put it on a list to track it but if it doesn’t make the list then it doesn’t get the attention. I find that many people don’t keep track of open items and thus they stay open for quite some time.

Hopefully my blog made your list of entertaining and educational information.

Responses

  1. please say Santa’s on his list…
    please say Santa’s on his list…
    please say Santa’s on his list…
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

