Posted by: kerrywills | April 13, 2012

Improper use of phrases


I always enjoy when people attempt to sound intelligent by using intelligent phrases, but then use them incorrectly. Here are some of my favorite examples….

  • Mute vs moot – People who write that a point is “mute” are suggesting that the points don’t speak….which makes their comments “moot” (i.e. of no value)
  • Irregardless – Since there is a double negative it cancels itself out so is actually means nothing
  • Insure – I like when people “insure” that things will happen – does this mean that they took out an insurance policy?
  • I could care less – That means that you do care, since you have the capacity to care less
  • Bare with me – I think this is suggesting to get naked together

Is he making a "mute" point?

So be careful about what you say and how you say it/spell it as people like me are watching…and I could care less.

Leave a Reply

Categories

